Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List

A printable list of Gluten Free Halloween Candy for easy reference during the Halloween holiday and beyond.

October is here, and Halloween is right around the corner! Of course trick-or-treating is high on the list of things my kids love to do, and all the candy that comes with it. I have a daughter with Celiac Disease who can’t have gluten, so being aware of the gluten-free candy is really important to me and our family. I’ve created a list of gluten-free Halloween candy that helps us, and hope it can help you too!

Gluten-Free Halloween Candy List

I’ve read through several gluten-free and Celiac dedicated sites, because they always post candy information about this time of year. I was able to compile a list of popular Halloween candy that is listed by their manufacturers as gluten-free, which will be very helpful when all that candy comes home!

How to make sure candy is gluten-free

Check with manufacturer

  • Always check labels for verification, and contact the manufacturer directly with any questions or doubts.  There can be changes in ingredients, or even the facility, which cause a gluten-free candy to not have that status anymore. Harribo’s Gummy Bears is an example of this–they were gluten-free, but are not now.
  • Often times there will be related candies and one will be gluten-free, so you assume that the others will be too. That’s not always the case, in fact, it seems as if it’s the exception, rather than the rule. For example, Reeses’s PB Cups are gluten-free, EXCEPT the seasonal shaped ones. Almond Joy are gluten-free, but NOT the Joy pieces, and Rolo are gluten-free EXCEPT the mini variety. It’s vital that you check the labels of each separate candy, even if you think they’re the same, or very similar.


  • This list is meant to be a guideline–a place to start looking! Visit the manufacturer’s website–they will have a place where they address allergens and gluten-free concerns.  Calling them if in doubt is important, or if you think something has changed–getting it directly from the source is the most accurate. Gather the information, then make the best decision for you

Manufacturer LISTS

  • Not all candy companies keep a gluten-free candy list. Many refer to their packaging, and say they will list any allergens, including gluten. While not certified gluten-free, the candy is free of gluten in the product itself. One example is Mars, and I’ve included a quote from their website below. There are other companies that do the same thing.

FOR THE PURPOSE OF THIS LIST: I’ve included candy items that do not have gluten listed in the ingredients, and don’t have gluten listed as an allergen. Be aware of those circumstances, double check labels and manufacturer info and then make your decision.

There are some items on my list that are manufactured by Mars. This includes Snickers, Milky Way, Skittles, and M&Ms. They do not have a specific gluten free list. Their website states:

“Each product page
has ingredient information. Any ingredient added
as part of the recipe, whether it is a source of
allergen or not, will appear in the ingredient
declaration or listing on the packaging. This
ingredient declaration provides the latest and
most accurate information.”

2023 Candy List


  • Hershey Kisses (NOT all, check labels. Listed as okay are Caramel-Filled, Hugs, Cherry Cordial Crème, Mint Truffle, Milk Chocolate, Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate, Candy Cane, Kiss Deluxe)
  • Hershey’s Bars (1.55 oz. only)
  • York Peppermint Patties (NOT all—check labels)
  • Hershey Kisses Fall Foils
  • Almond Joy (NOT Almond Joy Pieces)
  • Rolo (NOT Rolo minis)
  • Reese’s PB Cups (NOT seasonal shapes—check labels)
  • Heath
  • Mounds
  • Payday
  • Milk Duds


  • M&Ms (NOT pretzel, crispy, and possibly seasonal versions)
  • Milky Way Caramel Bars (NOT the original Milky Way Bar)*
  • Snickers
  • 3 Musketeers
  • Dove Chocolate products (NOT milk chocolate cinnamon graham and cookies & cream—check seasonal versions)
  • Skittles
  • Starburst


  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Black Forest Gummies and Fruit Snacks
  • Bob’s Sweet Stripes
  • Boston Baked Beans
  • Brach’s Candy Corn 
  • Jawbreakers
  • Jujubes
  • Lemonheads (regular & chewy)
  • Now & Later
  • Rain-Blo Gumbal
  • Red Hots
  • SweeTarts (original)
  • Trolli Gummies and Fruit Snacks (NOT Sour Brite Bites and Twisted Sour Brite Crawlers)

Just Born

  • Mike and Ike Original Fruits
  • Mike and Ike Mega Mix
  • Mike and Ike Berry Blast
  • Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
  • Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
  • Peeps
  • Hot Tamales


  • Baby Ruth
  • Sweet Tarts
  • Laffy Taffy
  • Oh-Henry!
  • Sno-caps
  • Pixy Stix
  • Butterfinger (fun-size and single)
  • Goobers
  • Raisinets


  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Welch’sFruit Snacks, Fruit ‘n Yogurt Snacks, Fruit Rolls and Welch’s Juicefuls
  • Smarties
  • Junior Mints
  • Tootsie Pops
  • Jelly Belly Beans
  • Dots
  • Charleston Chew

Download printable list


Can the gluten-free status of candy products ever change?

Yes, sometimes it does, so it’s good to check on a regular basis, and especially before a holiday or event where candy is given out. Companies may switch facilities or change ingredients, and other factors that can affect their gluten-free status.

Do all candy companies have a list of certified gluten-free products or candy?

No, many of them don’t. Some do, like Hershey’s. Most refer to their packaging, including the ingredient list and any allergens. You can always contact the manufacturer directly for the most up to date and correct status.

Reference Sites and Sources

More gluten-free ideas for you

Come say hi, and follow me on Instagram (Old Salt Farm), Instagram (Simply Kierste), Facebook (Old Salt Farm), Facebook (Simply Kierste) and Pinterest–I’d love to see you there! 🖤

Here’s to happy and safe trick-or-treating!

Share and save for later!


    1. Actually, Butterfinger is gluten-free, but only the original bar, which is how I listed it on my printable.

      According to Nestle, the following candies are gluten-free:

      Baby Ruth
      Butterfinger Bar (original flavor only, NOT Crisp, Giant Bar, Snakerz, Medallions, Jingles, Hearts or Pumpkins)
      Milk Chocolate
      Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
      Oh Henry!
      Raisinets (including Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
      Wonka Pixy Stix
      Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope)
      Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip

      As I mention, ingredients can change, so always check labels!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.